The U.S. Department of Education requires all institutions of higher education to provide state licensure information for programs that are designed to meet educational requirements for a specific license and are required for employment in an occupation, or are marketed or advertised to meet those requirements. Professional licensure refers to specific standards required to legally practice in a profession. Since professional licensure is generally regulated at the state level, it is often necessary to obtain a separate license for each state in which one wishes to practice. Information regarding licensure programs offered by Campbellsville University is provided below.

Online Master of Social Work: License and State Requirements

Your MSW degree will prepare you for many promising opportunities in the social work field. Obtaining a license may be an additional credential to consider that can broaden your opportunities even further. Depending on your state’s requirements, some agencies require social workers to have a license in addition to an MSW degree in order to practice.

State Licensure Requirements

The requirements and names for the social work licenses can vary from state to state. States also determine social workers’ scope of practice as well as the titles they can use. While most states have processes for reciprocity and for transferring licenses from another state, some states will require you to go through the application process as a new applicant.

These links provide detailed information about licensing guidelines and requirements in each state. For additional questions about state licensing and the online MSW program at Campbellsville University, please contact an enrollment counselor toll-free at (888) 506-6011 or request more information today!

Alabama Montana
Alaska Nebraska
Arizona Nevada
Arkansas New Hampshire
California New Jersey
Colorado New Mexico
Connecticut New York
Delaware North Carolina
District of Columbia North Dakota
Florida Ohio
Georgia Oklahoma
Hawaii Oregon
Idaho Pennsylvania
Illinois Rhode Island
Indiana South Carolina
Iowa South Dakota
Kansas Tennessee
Kentucky Texas
Louisiana Utah
Maine Vermont
Maryland Virginia
Massachusetts Washington
Michigan West Virginia
Minnesota Wisconsin
Mississippi Wyoming